The Transition To Milk…

Welcome back to my blog, Lainey lovers! If you’re new here, check out the 70+ blogs I’ve already written. I’m sure you’ll find something to tickle your fancy.

 

Today’s blog will be about my experience and the way I transitioned Lainey from formula to whole milk. By no means am I a doctor. With that being said, always consult your doctor for something like this first.

 

I recently transitioned Lainey to whole milk. She’s been on just whole milk for about 2-3 weeks, now. I was worried at first that it wouldn’t agree with her tummy, because of her being unable to have powdered formula. (That’s another story for another day. I wrote a blog on it, for those who are interested)! I transitioned her very slowly, rather than quicker like some moms may do. You do what feels best for you, mama. I’m not here to judge you for your decisions. In the beginning, I did 1/4 milk, and the rest of her bottle formula. I only gave her one milk bottle a day, to be extra cautious of her tiny tummy. At said time, she was taking 3 bottles a day. If you’re unsure about what 1/4 is, google is your best friend. (I’d be screwed without it). I continued her with a 1/4 bottle for 3 days. After the 3 days were up, I gave her 1/2 of her bottle milk, half formula. I continued the “only one bottle of milk method” as well. I always kept watch for reactions, rashes, constipation, etc. Once again, she was doing great, so then after 3 days we went to 3/4 milk, the rest formula. Continued this one bottle for 3 days, and after those 3 days we went straight to 1 full milk bottle! I was so pleased that she wasn’t having any issues with the milk. As I stated above, I was taking tiny baby steps with this situation. If you feel the need to go faster, more power to you! I then went on to do 3 days of 1 whole milk bottle, and then from there did 2 out of her 3 bottles with whole milk. She’d have a milk bottle in the morning, at brunch time, and then she would have her 3rd bottle of formula for bed time. After 2 days of her having 2 milk bottles, I dropped the formula and we went full force to all bottles of whole milk. Lainey has done perfect the entire journey of switching. She has not gotten constipated, but she does poop a little less some days. So if your baby starts pooping less, don’t panic! If they can’t poop at all, I would seek out another form of milk for your babe. Consult your doctor if that happens! Also, I would like to add that I always warmed Lainey’s bottles the entire journey. She will not take anything in a bottle that isn’t warm. That’s probably the only thing she is picky about, haha. As of late, she is 13 months, and still on her bottle. Once we conquer that, I can also write a blog about that process! (For those who would be interested). I hope you enjoyed today’s blog!

 

Note: This is MY personal experience. By no means is this the “right” or “wrong” way to transition your baby to whole milk. By no means do you even have to transition them to cows milk, at all! This blog was requested, so here it is!

 

 

 

 

Love, Lainey & Mommy. ❤️

Leave a comment